Concealed Handgun Permits and the Use of Deadly Force
- CoastalCare has outsourced the Release of Information process to HealthPort Technologies, LLC of Atlanta, Georgia. HealthPort will begin charging each individual for the costs associated with this process. Billing statements will be sent to the address provided by those persons on their Authorization for Use and Disclosure Form before the information will be released to the requestor. According to CoastalCare there will be a $15.00 flat fee to individuals with no record. Individuals with a record will be charged a fee of $15.00 and $0.75 per page. The Carteret County Sheriff’s Office is not responsible for this change and fees should not be made payable to the Carteret County Sheriff’s Office. HealthPort Technologies, LLC will be sending each applicant an invoice shortly after date of applying.
- East Carolina Behavioral Health will charge $10.00 if you have a record. The Carteret County Sheriff’s Office is not responsible for this change and fees should not be made payable to the Carteret County Sheriff’s Office. East Carolina Behavioral Health will be sending each applicant with a record an invoice shortly after date of applying.
Requirements for Obtaining and/or Renewing a Concealed Handgun Permit
Applications are available at the Carteret County Sheriff's Office located on the 1st floor, 304 Craven Street, Beaufort. Office hours are 8 a.m. - 5 p.m., Monday - Friday; telephone (252) 504-4800. You may also print an online application by clicking Concealed Handgun Permit.
Application Fee: $80.00; Renewal Fee: $75.00; Duplicate Fee: $15.00
*Fees are non-refundable and required by State Law. Applicant must meet all application requirements.
- be twenty-one (21) years of age;
- be a resident of Carteret County and a resident of North Carolina for thirty (30) days;
- be a citizen or naturalized citizen of the United States of America;
- not suffer from any mental or physical infirmity which would prevent safe handgun handling and operation;
- provide a valid N.C. driver's license or other picture ID with current address provided by the state of North Carolina;
- successfully complete a firearms training and safety course that has been designed by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Standards Commission (See Yellow Pages or a firearms dealer for businesses that provide training).
Once you have completed your application, all NEW applicants must be fingerprinted at the Sheriff's Office. Note: Fingerprints are not required for renewals.
Fingerprint Hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday - Friday
Fingerprint Fee:The cost of service is $1, paid directly to the Carteret County Sheriff's Office.
If you would like to make an appointment to apply for permit/fingerprints, please call (252) 504-4808.
A criminal background check that takes about 90 days must be performed before granting of permit.
- Provide a letter of recommendation from your Commanding Officer
- Military Record Check – Provost Marshall’s Office will provide criminal record check officially stamped along with the aforementioned Commanding Officer’s letter of recommendation. **STAMPED REQUIRED ON ALL MILITARY FORMS**
At the time of application, the applicant must present:
- An original certificate of completion from a certified firearms training and safety course. Note: A certificate is not required for renewals.
- Valid photographic identification and proof of residence. (Example: Copy of NCDL or NC Identification Card)
- List of all counties and states you have resided in.
- Exactly $81.00. Note: Cash only. $75.00 for renewal
Renewal of Permit to Carry Concealed Handguns
Renewal applications should be completed approximately 6 weeks before expiration date which appears on your card. The cost of the renewal is $75.00. The process takes five to six weeks. It is your responsibility to notify the Records Division of any name, address or phone number changes that occur during the five years of your permit.
It is not the obligation of the Sheriff's Office to notify the Permit Holder of their expiration date. DCI will, however, provide to each Sheriff a list of individuals (name, permit number, address, date of issuance/expiration) in their county whose permit will expire within the next 90-120 days. This printout will also include one mailing label for each individual on the printout. The Sheriff may, at his discretion, notify the applicant of his pending expiration in whatever manner he chooses.
Applications are available at the Carteret County Sheriff's Office and can be picked up between the hours of 8 a.m. - 5 p.m., Monday - Friday; telephone (252) 504-4800. You may also print an online application by clicking Concealed Handgun Permit Renew.